Smoothies

I’m back on a green smoothie kick and am feeling a lot more energized than I have in awhile! Many of you have asked what recipe I use, but I really don’t use a prescribed recipe, so here’s a guide to my green smoothies:

INGREDIENTS

Something Green:

1-2 C of: kale/collard/spinach and/or any dark green leafy vegetable

Some Fruit:

1 Apple

1 Pear

Any of the following (fill to the top of the blender): peaches, strawberries, banana, mango, berries, pineapple, or other fruit of your liking.

Some Kind of Liquid:

1-2 C of: juice, water, or almond milk

1/4 C lime/lemon juice

Some Extras: (optional)

Protein Powder

Flax

Cinnamon

Honey

Ice

DIRECTIONS: Pile it all up in a blender and puree. Add ice and liquid to reach desired consistency. Serves 3

And just because I discovered this amazing treat tonight, check out my adapted recipe for Chunky Monkey Smoothie from Greatist.com:

INGREDIENTS:

1 medium banana

1 C chocolate almond milk

1 Tbs creamy peanut butter

1 Tbs chocolate syrup

1 Tbs flax

1 C ice

DIRECTIONS:

Mix together and enjoy :) Serves 2

One thought on “Smoothies

  1. Well, I’m getting used to kale…kale sausage soup, kale crisps, the next batch I’ll try your smoothie recipe – thanks!

    Bob is gagging! See you soon…

Leave a comment